4 Council Members

Electing a Chair and Deputy Chair

For universities and wānanga, the council elects the Chair (usually known as the Chancellor at universities and te Amokapua at wānanga) and the Deputy Chair (Pro Chancellor)4 from among its members. The term of office must be for a period that does not exceed the term of their appointment as a council member, and incumbents are eligible for re-election. The Chief Executive, employees of the TEI and student representatives are not eligible for these two positions (s 177).

For ITPs, the Minister appoints the Chair and Deputy Chair (s 222AG).

4For brevity and simplicity, the terms “Chair” and “Deputy Chair” are used in this document in references to all types of tertiary education institutions.